Resolutions, Challenges, and the Like

First and foremost, happy new year!  I hope this year is better than the last.

Okay, so I don’t usually making new year’s resolutions.  I end up forgetting or just breaking right off the bat.  They seem so easily broken and ultimately so unattainable; perhaps it is the nature of resolutions. Who knows.  I don’t feel like debating the nature of resolutions.

*ahem*  What I do have are works-in-progress…because as I like to think, my life is a work-in-progress. Hopefully, one that I continue to improve upon.  Oh, sure, I do slip up every once in a while, but don’t we all?

My continual personal works-in-progress including:

  • gaining further control of my Diabetes
  • being creative every day – This can include taking better pictures; writing; or binding a book

That’s it.  I suppose there are the goals that I work on everyday that I’m not aware of doing…like working on my relationship with my husband (good relationships are never done.  Relationships, in order to remain fresh take work.  But this seems to be another post for another time.)  These are the things that are on my mind constantly.  The Diabetes informs me of what food I should eat and of my movement.  The creativity just feels good to me.  (Not that the exercise doesn’t but I would rather be doing any but…)

The challenge that I’ve set for myself is how many books I read.  Since 2011, I’ve been participating in Goodreads’ yearly challenge and I’ve been upping the number of books by five as I go along. Last year’s challenge I managed to read three books over the goal I set for myself – which was 30. This year, I’m going to try and read 35 books. I only count the books that I’ve actually finished. If I didn’t…then I think that number would be higher. I have some friends who think that life shouldn’t be wasted on books you don’t like. But I try very very hard to finish each book that I begin. I’m a tad bit obsessive that way.

Okay, that’s enough from me. I’m going to go back to the book that I started tonight.

Leave a Reply

