Blogging 101: Introduce Yourself

So, I decided to renew my passing interest in blogging. My previous blog was ten years old before I decided to start dismantling it, though truth be known, I was only *really* active with it for about two years. The year leading up to my wedding – though it wasn’t a wedding blog – and a year afterwards. After that I switched jobs; was miserable with that job; and found a better job. My attentions, naturally had focused elsewhere.

I’m not entirely sure why I would start blogging again; just some siren call that beckoned me back to the ranks, I suppose. But here I am and I seem to be participating in wordpress’s Blogging 101 course.

Today’s task/homework/challenge is to:

write and publish a “who I am and why I’m here” post.

I am a writer, wife, daughter, cousin, friend, bookbinder, geek, gamer, cyclist, yogi, administrative support, secret keeper, observer, introvert, and all around quiet and shy person. I tend to do much observing before I jump into a discussion. Ultimately, this makes me look aloof. I don’t particularly care, mind you, it’s just a funny thing to think. We live in an extroverted world and I don’t think most extroverts realize how stressing their world is to an introvert.

But I am getting off-topic. This will be shelved for a later date.

The second part to the question…why I’m here. I’m here because I made a silent vow (not resolution) to write more often. The first word I used to describe myself was the word writer. I’m trying to get back into the game, as it were. Blogging (and having someone to keep me accountable) is an excellent way to do it, I think.

Since I was seven I’ve kept some sort of diary or journal. On average, I tend to start a new journal every six to nine months. I keep an <a href="http://www.evernoteevernote file on topics/prompts that I find interesting and I am never far from my current journal or agenda to jot down something that strikes my fancy.

But I’ve been doing that for too long – keeping files of things that I find interesting and not enough writing. So, here I am. Lots to think and write about but not enough of the actual thing. Hopefully, I can turn it around…and on that note, it’s time to do some other writing.

3 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Introduce Yourself

Leave a Reply

