Blogging 101: Be Inspired by the Neighbors

I’m so very, very annoyed. The post in regards to today’s assignment didn’t save. I’m not sure whether it’s my fault or wordpress’s fault, either way I’m very annoyed right now. Either way, I have to recreate the post by memory. I hope I can do it.

*ahem*

Today’s assignment builds upon the one from yesterday where you had to comment on blogs and to make it meaningful. Okay, I can do it. I left comments on several blogs that I wouldn’t normally comment on (whether the blog was in my wheelhouse or not) and ended up following them because I like what the writers had going on in their blogs.

One of the comments I left was on Esther Lou‘s post
Look out for the F-bombs and don’t forget to proofread!”; another was left on Recursive Words blog about Be Inspired by the Neighbors and Moleskine Notebooks and the last notable one was on this post:
Nuts and Bols and Good Old Words. All three posts sparked a further post that I wanted to write (nice job, you guys!).

While I *really* *really* wanted to write about notebooks, journals, and diaries (Oh, my!), I realized that that particular post probably needed a picture or two.

So, I’m going to write about words. Esther Lou writes that gets turned off by someone dropping the f-bomb in the middle of the post or if improper grammar is used. I commented that sometimes there’s no right word for how one is feeling. For instance, if I stub my toe while stumbling to the bathroom in the middle of the night, you better believe that I’m going to cuss up a storm…just not loud enough to wake my husband. I may be in pain, but I’m not going to disturb his sleep. Another example is in regards to the miscarriage I suffered last month. While I wrote about it, I could not express the depths of my anger and grief about losing a child that I never got to hold. (Writing that makes me weepy, hold on a second.)

*ahem*

Okay.

I raged about it. Oh, how I raged. The only words that could come close to making me feel a bit better were the curse words. The tears and the support from my family and friends helped tremendously, of course. But it was those curse words that made me feel like I was spitting out all the bad inside.

*Breathe in good.*

*Breathe out bad.*

I ended up writing and writing pages in my journal about it. Most of it were tearstained, naturally, but I wrote about it and the words helped.

On a recent episode of Mythbusters they did an experiment to see if cursing helped. It turned out that yes, it did help. Yes, yes, I understand that it’s a tv show, so take it with a grain of salt.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m don’t curse just to curse (and I understand that I’ve been interchanging curse and cuss.) Since, my nieces and nephew have been at the house on a semi-permanent basis I take every effort not to say these words out loud. My expression alone takes care what not saying. If they hear bad words, it’s not going to be from me. Oh, they’ll learn other mannerisms, just not that.

Words help. Words heal. Words can also hurt. Also, the lack of words can also hurt, help, and heal, if you were wondering. Growing up I never heard the words “I love you,” from my parents often enough. I knew that they love me, but it would’ve been nice to hear it more often while growing up. For the record, they still have difficulty telling – or any loved ones – those three little words. I suppose to combat this I tell my husband and our niblings that I love them. They may roll their eyes – not yet though – but they’ll know for sure that I love them.

One more thing before I go. If you haven’t noticed already, I don’t do a lot of editing on my posts. Other things that I tend to do:

    1. Not edit
    2. Use colloqialisms
    3. Ramble
    4. Use lists
    5. Curse occasionally

My apologies if this bothers you. I will treat this as I treat my handwritten journal: anything goes.

And on that note…

Songs on Spotify while I wrote:
Write? Write!

  • Paradise Circus by Massive Attack
  • Teardrop by Massive Attack
  • Pray for Rain by Massive Attack
  • Lights by Ellie Goulding
  • The Late Song (Je Ne Suis Pas Mo) by David Poe
  • Loves a Sinner by David Poe with Duncan Sheik
  • South Side by Moby with Gwen Steffani
  • La valse d’Amelie by Yann Tiersen
  • Dragon Age:  Inquisition (main theme) by Trevor Morris
  • The Dawn Will Come by Trevor Morris
  • She Runs Away by Duncan Sheik
3 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Be Inspired by the Neighbors

  1. hmunro

    I’m a brand-new follower, so this is the first time I’m reading about your miscarriage. My heartfelt condolences to you — sincerely. But you are SO right that words can heal … and I hope that each word you write and every post you post (or don’t, thanks to WordPress 🙂 will help you feel better.

    Anyway, cheers to you on your wonderful and thought-provoking blog! You’re a marvelous writer. (And I’m not just saying that in the guise of leaving a meaningful comment. Ha.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a powerful post about the power of words. Fully agree that there are some situations that call for words that can shock. As long as they’re not overused, they still retain that power, which is all to the good. Bon courage!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

