Blogging 101: Make a Prompt Personal

Today’s assignment involves:

Today’s assignment: publish a post based on your own, personalized take on a Daily Prompt.

Okay, I think I can deal with it.

I wasn’t feeling this assignment anyway, so I’ll pull out another writing prompt and see where it takes me, yes?

Yes.

This where I found this prompt:

Stability
posted 1.15.15
How important is stability to you? Sometimes comfort and routine can stifle creativity, but too much risk and uncertainty may create anxiety. Write a personal essay examining how stable your life seems and whether you think the level of stability could be adjusted. Now might be the time to finally settle down and get to work, or to set off into uncharted territory. Tap into your instincts and listen to them.

[Side note #1: Did you know that my English degree has a focus on creative non-fiction writing? That thought should be another post…]

I’m pretty sure that stability is important to most people. Yes, there are those people who crave the unstable, whether it is in relationships or just from life in general, but I’m willing to bet a dollar that most people would crave the stability than the opposite. This doesn’t mean, however, that a person’s life should fall into a rut.

Take those risks, it could lead to something wonderful. Or not. You won’t know until you try. On one of my support groups for IVF a woman worried about the emotional roller coaster that comes with IVF. I replied to her post and asked if she would feel better to have never tried at all and wonder rather than to try and fail? If you fail the cycle then at least you’ve tried.

Okay, that’s a huge sticky wicket. There’s cost involved with IVF procedures: emotional and financial. There’s also the cost to the relationship, whether or not it fails or is successful. Also, the added question when is enough enough?

That’s a huge unstable ride, I can tell you. While my own pregnancy ended in a miscarriage it told me several things about myself:

  1. can get pregnant
  2. can sustain a life for a while – why the pregnancy failed is just stupid dumb luck
  3. am stronger than I thought I was.

While I still mourn the loss, the sight of a baby doesn’t bring me to tears.

[Side note #2: This isn’t where I thought the prompt would bring me, by the way.]

I have a stable loving relationship with my husband. My sense of humor – no matter how strange and dark it is – is intact. I have a strong support group. Honestly, this is the most stable I’ve been.

But let’s not talk about our finances. Those will never be stable…no matter how hard I try or how much money I have. 🙂 It’s the nature of the beast, with the both of us working for non-profits. I’m not complaining about the non-profit. We both love our jobs.

*ahem* Stability. *ahem*

Right.

My one friend calls me the Janet Wood of his circle of friends. It’s no wonder really. His life seems to be in some sort of maelstrom. (Again, another post about him…maybe…sometimes there are some subjects better left alone.) While others around him are in a seemingly constant state of flux, I remain unfazed, placid, and with a sense of purpose.

What he doesn’t realize is that my sense of purpose is to not get dragged down in his cyclone of unending bad luck, decisions, and karma.

My other friend calls me a “secret boss,” which makes me chuckle. I suppose I do end up making a lot of the decisions or at least guiding them to an end. I am uncomfortable with an endless discussion of what should be easy decisions. Many of my coworkers claim that I actually run the organization. I laugh and tell them that no, this isn’t the case. They are, however, very earnest that I actually do run it.

I’m not entirely sure if I like that idea.

One thought on “Blogging 101: Make a Prompt Personal

  1. Pingback: Blogging 101: Create a New Posting Feature | Untitled, Unfinished

Leave a Reply

