Blogging 101: Try a New Post

I can do this.

I used to post many pictures on my first blog. I even put a few pictures on my former tumblr blog. But I haven’t put too many pictures on this current blog. Not because I don’t want to, but I forget to add a picture. Plus, there’s also the question of my so-called “smartphone.” Hint, it’s not so smart anymore.

Anyway, I read a lot.  My nightstand looks like this most of the time.  It’s covered in books.  Books I’ve been loaned.  Books from the library.  Books I’ve purchased.  Just books.  Books, books, and more books.  Those are my headphones in the second picture hanging from the bedpost.  Sometimes when my husband is watching something that I don’t want to watch, on goes the headphones and I remain blissfully unaware of what he’s watching.

IMG_20140507_2240372014-06-01 10.24.24

There are several constants in my bookbag.  Yes, it’s a bookbag.  No, I don’t carry a purse…unless I’m going somewhere that requires a purse, which isn’t often, let me tell you.  But several constants remain in my bookbag:  my iPod classic (No, I’m not giving it up, until the little thing dies.  Fingers crossed.), a book (or two, depending on how near I am to finishing the book); and a journal (whether I made it or bought it).  These things are constant.  They are in my second nature.

IMG_20140517_181122

  • Wallet?  (Check)
  • Keys? (Check)
  • Phone? (Check)
  • Book? (Check)
  • iPod – named Hamish, by the way (Check)
  • Journal, a pen is always attached to the cover (Check)

I’m ready to go.

I could go with a kindle, but I don’t want to.  I’m very stubborn.  I’ll carry around a hardback book like
Isabell Allende‘s Maya’s Notebook (which I devoured by the way, last summer  It got me to read her other books…which there are many.)

2014-06-13 08.21.45

This last picture is just a portion of the library that we have in our house.  I’m pretty sure this is part of the fiction and graphic novels section.  There are your usual suspects of Neil Gaiman, Akira and Allison Bechdel.  When my husband and I married our combined collection of books couldn’t be contained.  This room is what was left of the purging we did.  Yes, I know it doesn’t look like we purged, but we did.

2014-06-02 22.09.01

It’s what happens when two bibliophiles meet and fall in love.

Anyway, that’s all from me right now.

By the way, I was nominated for an award by The Schizo Effect, a blog that I read daily (if there’s a post, naturally). My post in response to this post will be posted hopefully today. I didn’t forget about it!

5 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Try a New Post

  1. I don’t have quite as many books as you, but my nightstand is in a similarly laden condition. I have a feeling I will end up with a lot of reading recommendations after following your blog!

    Like

    1. Well, thanks for that! My husband tends towards sci-fi and I tend to read general fiction. We both read non-fiction on occasion. He’s currently reading Tana French’s “In The Woods” and since I am playing Dragon Age on the XBox, I went pulpy and I’m reading a book set in that universe.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Real Neat Blog Award | Untitled, Unfinished

Leave a Reply

