On Naps and Napping

My husband is a habitual napper. Every weekend, at around 2 pm to 3 pm, he takes a nap. It’s just what he does. I have been trying to just get over it. I’d like him to be more active but that’s for another post.

I, on the other hand, don’t often nap. Even when I was briefly pregnant getting me to take a rest often led me to just lie on my bed staring at whatever was in front of me. I disliked it. I hated napping as a child and I’m not exactly fond of it now. My parents are also habitual nappers. Everything in our house would come to a stand still and it would be very, very quiet. Okay, admittedly, most of the time there were just the three of us. My grandparents, when they were visiting, took naps. I left me alone to my own devices. Well, I was usually left alone to my own devices. When everyone was napping I just had to be quieter.

Hmm, looking back, I suppose you could say that I was a lonely kid. But, like always, that’s for a different post.

Where was I?

Oh, right.

Napping

I’m not anti-napping. If you need the nap, take the nap. Just please don’t expect me to take one with you. I’ve got things to do, thanks.

I don’t feel like this when I go to bed at night. In fact, I welcome our sleep overlords. I can’t wait to go to sleep. I enjoy whatever show my subconscious mind decides to put on for me. The dreams where I am flying – which sadly, are few and far between – are awesome. I also have these recurring dreams where I am in a large decrepit Victorian house by the seaside. I’m not sure what those mean but I always love exploring when my mind decides to show me that dream.

Those dreams though, don’t come when I take a nap. I suppose I do dream, but I don’t recall those nap dreams often.

Currently, the house is quiet. My husband is napping – it is, after all, 3:03 pm here. The cats are napping – I can tell because they aren’t hissing at each other or running madly up and down the stairs. Even our third floor lodger and his girlfriend are taking a nap. (I am making suppositions. Leave me alone.) So, once again, I am left to my own devices.

Now…what to do…so many things…

2 thoughts on “On Naps and Napping

Leave a Reply

