Real Neat Blog Award

neat

So, as promised in my last post I have been awarded the “Real Neat Blog” Award. I was awarded this kindly by The Schizo Effect in this post. Thank you, by the way. 🙂 I am honored.

With any award there are rules. Like these:

Real Neat Blog Award Rules:
1. Put the Award Logo in your post
2. Answer 7 questions asked by the person who nominated you
3. Thank the people who nominated you, linking to their blogs
4. Nominate any number of bloggers you like, linking to their blogs.
5. Let them know you nominated them (by commenting on their blog etc.)

Her questions are as follows:

1. When was the last time you laughed until you cried?
Hmm, good question. I don’t remember. *But* here’s the thing. My husband is very good at making me laugh till I cry. He’s very good at making me laugh, period. Most of his jokes are corny, punny, or groan-inducing. When I am in a particular mood he will employ the largest weapon in his arsenal.

He’ll lick my nose.

Have you ever had your nose licked? It’s hard to keep an angry or sad or blah face after someone licks your nose. I’ll scrunch up my face (I’m doing it now that I’m thinking about it!) – because ew!!! He licked my nose!!

*sigh*

But anyway, I often laugh till I cry when my husband is trying to make me laugh.

What’s even better is when I get him to laugh. I don’t feel like it’s often, though he’ll tell me that it isn’t true. I am George Burns to his Gracie Allen. Rowan to his Martin. Martin to his Lewis. (Wow, that should tell you about my early comedic experiences, huh?)

2. What do you miss most about your childhood?
I miss being the one who didn’t pay the bills. Being an adult sucks sometimes. While I was an quietly overly dramatic teen (Being introverted I kept my angst to myself until I exploded.), I had a loving (if not slightly suffocating) family. Oh, I still have my slightly suffocating family. They just happen to live four hours south of me.

I also miss the long hours I would spend on my bike, just riding around the subdivision. Uphill. Downhill. Uphill. Downhill. Just me and my thoughts. I was used to being alone in my neighborhood. Making friends wasn’t easy for me.

No, let’s be honest. Making friends now, still isn’t easy. I just have a better…what? Game face? Sure, let’s go with game face.

3. Android or iPhone?
Currently, I have an android phone. I’ve dabbled with Apple products – most notably, Hamish my classic iPod. But I had a used iPhone. I’m not dropping money now to buy the latest iPhone, mind you. I love paying $70 a month for both of our phones to switch carriers. I’m not doing it just for a shot at new and shiny phones that really only last two years. I may hate my phone currently, but I’ll get a new one at then end of the month.

4. What is the most meaningful gift you’ve ever received?
Hmmm, I would argue that I can attach something meaningful to every gift that I have received. I can’t say that I remember the last most meaningful gift I’ve ever received…even if we have just passed one of the major gift giving holidays.

What I will tell you is a gift that I made recently…well, I should say helped to make recently. My nieces and nephews make their own gifts each year. Since I bind journals, their father (strongly) suggested that I help the middle child bind simple journals as her present.  Simple being the
pamphlet stitch. I have plenty of nice looking paper – scrap-booking paper. So, for the next hour I helped her create a dozen journals. I had her put her signature in it, so everyone would know who made it.

She was very pleased at how pretty they looked when we were done. The meaning of the gift may have flown over the heads of some of the gift recipients but she had a lot of pride in them.

5. Call or Text?
As the BBC Sherlock Holmes would say, I prefer to text.

When I was in high school I loved to talk on the phone. All the time. Of course, this was before mobile phones. I’m sure I would have texted back then if I had the chance.

6. If you had the choice between 2 routes, one full of spider, the other of snakes, which would you choose to endure?
Are the spiders venomous? Are the snakes? Are they both venomous? If not, I’ll go with the snakes. I can walk gently and not disturb them.

7. What advice would you give to other writers, or others interested in starting a blog?
Write every day. No matter what. No matter if you don’t feel like writing. Write. Write a blog post. Write a journal entry. Write on your computer. Just write.

Don’t think. Just do.

And here are my questions:

  1. How are you today?
  2. What are you currently listening to?
  3. What book are do you have on your nightstand?
  4. What’s your most cherished memory and why?
  5. Why did *you* start a blog?
  6. Tell us something surprising about yourself.
  7. Do you have any words of wisdom for us?

randomrandom 2

Well, I suppose I could tag fifteen writers…but if you are already reading this, I’m pretty sure that you are worthy to receive this award. So, please go ahead and write up your questions and pass them along.

Or not.  Sometimes, these memes aren’t everyone’s cup of tea.

G’night.

Leave a Reply

