Blogging 101: Try (Another) Blog Event

Sometimes, you feel like you’re ahead of the curve. Take today’s assignement. Try another blog event?

Sure. I’m gearing up for one already. Or I suppose I could also do the photo of the week one. I love taking pictures. I don’t necessarily do anything with them and I don’t necessarily take pictures of people…but that’s another story. 🙂

What I dearly love doing are prompts. I have a notebook on Evernote that’s nothing but prompts. I have a section on feedly that’s a collection of articles/prompts/what have you that could be good writing fodder (for a journal entry in my *gasp* handwritten journal, for a post, a story.)

I love it when people give me prompts. If I could figure out how to create something that would allow people to send me prompts I would be thrilled…I suppose I should try to figure that out when I get home and in between doing the chores. But anyway, I digress.

“When I tell you to run, run.”

Writer’s Block

In one sentence is the spark of a story. Ignite.

Mission: Write a story, a description, a poem, a metaphor, a commentary, or a memory about this sentence. Write something about this sentence.

Be sure to tag writeworld in your block!

[Side note #1: Not fiction. Just commentary. It’s what came to mind.]

My husband dragged me into watching Doctor Who. I only went kicking and screaming, honestly. The first episode of the “reboot” (or whatever you want to call it) was called Rose. I had no idea what to expect from a Doctor Who episode. My memories are vague and featured a guy with an accent, crazy curly hair (that wasn’t too far from my own) and a long colorful scarf. Trust me. I know now that it was the fourth doctor and the Doctor was played by Tom Baker.

Anyway, the first word that the Doctor says to Rose is “run” and run they do through the basement of a department store. I thought it all very silly and after watching the first five minutes, I turned it off. Then I decided to rewatch it again…after about six more months of my husband poking and prodding me into watching.

And then I got sucked in. I got sucked in hard.

My husband and I are now very much into Doctor Who. We have friends over to watch the show with us. There’s a big gathering to watch the Christmas special. We talk about episodes and wonder what the Doctor would do in certain situations. (We occasionally pretend that he’s Hemlock Holmes and that I am Johanna Watsdaughter while discussing Doctor Who, but that’s another story.)

We contemplated engraving our rings with wibbly wobbly timey wimey. We never got them engraved with anything. They are currently blank, but that’s okay. We ran out of time before the wedding and afterwards, well, it just didn’t matter so much. I guess it doesn’t really matter too much after nine and a half years, either.

Anyway, there’s a lot of running involved in Doctor Who. Running to a problem. Running away from enemies. Running away from a normal life. Running back.

Donna Noble: He saves worlds, rescues civilizations, defeats terrible creatures and runs a lot. Seriously, there’s an outrageous amount of running involved.

(The Doctor’s Daughter)

Indeed, there is Donna. Indeed, there is.

6 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Try (Another) Blog Event

  1. Nice. I’m still mad what they did to Donna.

    My favorite episodes are probably “Blink”, “The Girl in the Fireplace”, and “Vincent and the Doctor”.

    I liked the Matt Smith days, but grew tired of Amy and Rory.

    I’m very much liking Peter Capaldi.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Blogging 101: Create a New Posting Feature | Untitled, Unfinished

Leave a Reply

