Prompts Tuesday

Good morning all, technically, it’s mid-morning.  Eh, I don’t care.  🙂

It’s Tuesday and as I promised I would be doing a prompt today.

I found this prompt here. I’ll add it to my prompt pages shortly.

But first the prompt:

18. How does music sound to you?

Wow, Charlie, what a doozy of a prompt you just picked.

Well, that depends on the type of music I happen to be listening to, doesn’t it?

Okay, okay. It’s not how I feel about the piece of music being played. It’s how it sounds to me. I like to be fully immersed in the music that’s playing. It’s a little frustrating to me that I can’t put my blue headphones on and let the music surround me.

I like being carried away by the notes, the instruments, the words, what have you. Sometimes, if I am concentrating I can pick out an instrument and follow it throughout the song. I don’t have the vocabulary to properly describe how music sounds to me. I lost that a long time ago when I stopped taking piano lessons.

I loved playing the piano, but I desperately hated playing for others. Recitals were killers for me. Having my mom tell command me to play for people killed me. I hated being the center of attention – I still do, but I handle it better now.

(Supposedly.)

Music has been a constant in my life. I remember being very young and listening to my radio until I feel asleep. It was a country station (I don’t know why) but it soothed me as I feel asleep. I also slept with a night-light for longer than I care to admit. I’m not sure why I was such a fearful child, but I was.

Okay, so I’m not sure I did the prompt justice, but that’s what I’ve got.  By the way, if you have another prompt for me, I’ll be happy to take a stab at it.

By the by, this is what was playing while I wrote this.

One thought on “Prompts Tuesday

  1. Pingback: Music and Mixtapes | Untitled, Unfinished

Leave a Reply

