Writing Everyday

My friend M- told me about a writing retreat in North Carolina that was obscenely inexpensive. I asked her to send me the link and now I desperately want to go here. Especially, since I’ve found my writing vibe again. (It was hidden behind the couch next to the cat toys.)

I’ve never been to a writing retreat and it would be nice to go with a friend. But first, I would have to bring something to work on. There are plenty of stories that I’ve written that could benefit from a week-long intensive scrutiny…well, all of them could use an intense scrutiny.

Since restarting a blog, I’ve written more in the past month than I did in the past six months and isn’t that sad? Of course, there were other things going on in my life that took up more head space and quite rightly. We were preparing for a big change in our lives…sadly that big change died. (I’m so sorry, Tadpole…I’ll probably be saying that for the rest of my life, just FYI. Even though I know it wasn’t our fault, I’ll still be apologizing.)

Anyway, yes. I’ve gone off track.

Writing every day, to me, is very helpful. I like to think of a journal (where the majority of my writing takes place) as a pensieve. Of course, it doesn’t really exist, but wouldn’t it be cool if one were to exist? Of course, then my recollections wouldn’t be colored by my point-of-view, but that’s beside the point. Jessica writes this article and lists why a person should write every day.

It makes sense to me.

Currently, my goal – for the blog anyway – is to write 500 to 1,000 words on a post. Has that happened? No, not necessarily, but I’m working towards it. I suppose it’s like strength training. The more days you exercise, the easier the goal becomes. So, while I only manage about 250 to 400 words on a post, it’s getting easier to write each day…even on days like this, where I think I have nothing to say.

Seriously, I’ve been thinking about writing all day, but haven had the time. I could get up and write everyday once I wake up, but I like to exercise when I wake (Diabetes and all). So, writing gets a little push back until mid to late morning.

Except for today. Today, I couldn’t wake up at 6 am. I tried, but my body, needed the sleep. So, sleep it got. I’ll try to squeeze in a workout tonight when I get home, but I’m not sure how successful I’ll be.

So, if I don’t write a post, at least I can write a journal entry. It’s something and the physical act of writing is soothing to me. It’s pulling the thoughts out of my head and placing them somewhere else. Somewhere I can examine later. Sometimes, just that very act can solve whatever problems I had with it in my head.

I suppose, some would say, that is perspective.

So, anyway, here’s today’s contribution to writing everyday.

I wrote. I hope you did too.

5 thoughts on “Writing Everyday

Leave a Reply

