55 Fridays

I needed a prompt for this 55 Fridays. I chose this one.

I’m not including the original prompt in my 55 Fridays. That’s just cheating.

They couldn’t remember a time when they weren’t scared.
Writer’s Block

In one sentence is the spark of a story. Ignite.

Mission: Write a story, a description, a poem, a metaphor, a commentary, or a memory about this sentence. Write something about this sentence.

Be sure to tag writeworld in your block!

They couldn’t remember a time when they weren’t scared; when they weren’t fighting for their lives; when sound wasn’t a cause for concern. All they could remember was their fear: bright and bitter, wrapped in a heavy silence, cloaking their movement. Comfort was a thin hope, gauzy and mythological. Fear dogging their every step. Their only hope was to reach the only city left.

(55 words)

Well, jeez, that was harder than I remember. It’s not even a proper drabble. Oh, well. It’s something, yeah?

Just for comparison’s sake, below is the original 55 Fridays post I wrote and eventually expanded.

Friday, May 19, 2006
It started with a note lobbed over the fence. Three simple words were written on it: “Where were you?” Janey held it in her hands and pondered the message. Yesterday? The day before? What day? A second message was then thrown over the fence. “Yesterday.” Why should I say where I was when I don’t know who you are?

I hope it’s warmer where you are. Currently, it’s not here. 🙂

Happy Friday and stay warm!!

7 thoughts on “55 Fridays

      1. Ah, ok! So a half drabble. I thought you meant there were other rules to be respected. But a half drabble is just as proper as a full one, and even harder to do, in my view. But this one says so much in 55 words.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

