Prompts Tuesday (Fiction Edition)

And now for today’s fiction prompt:

You’ve had so many bad memories, and all I gave you was one more.
Writer’s Block

In one sentence is the spark of a story. Ignite.

Mission: Write a story, a description, a poem, a metaphor, a commentary, or a memory about this sentence. Write something about this sentence.

Be sure to tag writeworld in your block!

I reread the letter in my hand and wondered if he was trying to apologize to me or to himself. So many wasted years, futile efforts filled with regrets and sadness and for what? A supposed heartfelt apology, an empty home – no, a house. It ceased being a home a long time ago. – and a broken heart. I’ve got nothing to show for all my effort and he’s half a world away.

Bastard.

If he truly loved me he would have stayed; he would have helped me cope with all my bad memories, with all the baggage I’m carrying. But no, he’s a coward and apparently a liar and cheat as well.

I sighed and crumpled his heartfelt letter in my hand. I tossed it into the waste basket and continued to prepare for my day. Tonight, after today’s drama is over with, I’ll ask my friend to file the paperwork. I’ll get back on my feet and prove to him (and myself) that I don’t need him to complete me, that I can do this myself. No need for his help. No need at all.

***

Everything seems to be in snippets for me today. Not that it actually *means* anything. It’s just a fact.

Leave a Reply

