Chasing Daylight

*whew*

I’ve been under the weather lately and as such I haven’t felt like doing much of anything. I still do things but I don’t feel like I’ve done my best work, so to say.

So, I’m going to combine this week’s Six Minute Challenge with retaking some of the photos this week for photography 101. Listed below are the pictures I took with my crappy phone camera:

Below are some of the pictures I took today with my DSLR camera. I had a ton of fun trying to find the perfect shot for each day.

Street, Establishing Shot
Street, Establishing Shot

This shot was for the street and establishing shot. On a weekday, this particular street corner is filled with activity; kids walking to school, people going to work, people walking their dogs, etc. While this corner looks empty, I can assure you that there were people out and about walking.

Water and Orientation
Water and Orientation

Usually, this river doesn’t look this…brown. Or really, this high. But with the snow melting, I’m not surprised that it’s this high. I also took a picture with the other orientation and I can tell you that it didn’t look as good. When spring finally comes the trees won’t look so sad.

Sledding
Sledding

This was easy. It looks so lonely, until you see the sledders at the very bottom of the picture and to the left. There were many sledders today. I imagine going down this hill very, very quickly.

Home at the Top
Home at the Top

I don’t live here at the top of the mountain. I live off somewhere to the right of the middle of the picture and before the river. This city has been my home since late 1995.  I can’t believe that I’ve been here for almost twenty years.  Twenty.Years.  That’s crazy.

You may have noticed that I didn’t have a picture for bliss.  I have a very specific picture of bliss in mind and none of my subjects were napping when I came home.  I’ll have to sneak up on one of them while they are asleep.  Yes, it will be one of my cats.  What of it?

The last picture I almost didn’t take today.  But while I was driving, I noticed the sun was setting and I said to myself, Charlie, you need to grab that picture today.  Do it before the sun sets.  So, I went chasing daylight and a picture.

In case you were wondering, this took longer than the six minutes to write so, yes, I did write for at least six minutes today.

I hope your Saturday was just as productive.

Leave a Reply

