What’s In My Pocket…

So, right off the bat, I’ve gone off topic from this very interesting article about pockets and what people carry in them. Pockets, as the article says, are

familiar yet more unremarked upon

spaces of mundane yet oddly intimate. For me, the things I carry on consistent basis are chapstick (any flavor) and my pedometer. Sometimes, I’ll have hair clips but they don’t stay in my pocket for long. My wallet fits snugly in my back pocket and remains a slim little thing. I could, I understand, carry, a purse. But, as we’ll soon see, I find difficult to do.

While the topic of what’s in my pockets is endlessly fascinating, I really don’t deviate from what I do carry in my pockets. So, what do I carry?

Hint: It doesn’t fit in my pockets.

The majority of what I carry happen to be in my bag from Moop based out of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. I love the color of it – it’s this one, if you’re interested – a faded green color, worn enough to be soft, but no too soft. Ah, yes, I’ve gone off the tracks, again, haven’t I? I find it endlessly fascinating what people consider important enough to carry on their person on in their bag. It says so much about someone and is often looked over aside from the obvious.

I am a big fan of the any flick set that shows off what a person carries in their bag. (Don’t worry, I’ll post what I have in a bit.) I’ve even created a board specifically for what the contents of a bag

In my bag below, you can see that I seem to be carrying a lot of gear.

Pi Day Contents
The contents of my bag on March 14, 2015.

This includes:

          • My journal – the brown moleskin that is a map of MIddle Earth
          • The book I’m reading.  Dragon Age: The Masked Empire, pure pulpy goodness.
          • My Midori journal that I use as a bullet journal/agenda (It’s the black leather notebook next to my journal)
          • Pens (I love my pens.  There’s a post about my pen addiction coming up soon.)
          • Diabetes gear. It’s the red pouch from Ogden Made
          • The pill thingy next to the Diabetes gear
          • A card wallet from Queen Bee Creations
          • My phone, which is taking the picture
          • Chopsticks, you never know when you’ll need chopsticks
          • A pouch to hold the loose little things, also from Queen Bee Creations
          • Hamish, the iPod
          • A folder filled with random writings, memos, clippings, and general paper
          • physical therapy gear (that’s the yellow stretchy band and the tub of putty, great for building hand and wrist strength)
          • Another moleskin journal to record the blood sugar readings
          • A coin purse
          • And strangely enough a beef stick.  I have no idea why I have it.  Perhaps, I have it because I might need it for when my blood sugar drops??  Who knows.

If I could, I’d bring my laptop and camera as well. But that seems a bit much. (Tongue firmly in cheek.)

I take after my father in this regard. He carries a bag around as well. Okay, that’s a big fat lie. Most of the time, he carries three bags from the house to the car. One of those bags happens is a fanny pack. Whatever makes you happy, Dad. And no, I have no clue what he’s carrying around. If I could take a guess, besides his phone, wallet, and keys; my father probably has some snacks, a drink, his own bottles of medications, and perhaps some tchotchkes.

Is it better to carry three bags or just the one that fits everything? I don’t know. For me, just the one works. I have a friend at work who seems to carry out three bag of stuff when she leaves for work. One’s her purse, the other’s her lunch, but in the third? No clue. I asked her once and she laughed and told me that she didn’t know herself.

I suspect that my father, myself, and perhaps my friend at work are a few short steps (and some devastating trauma) from becoming hoarders; my father more so than me. I keep all my journals, my past letters, clippings (digitally and physically), pictures…but don’t we all? Don’t we want some sort of record of us when we shuffle off this mortal coil?  Don’t we want to be remembered?  And in keeping all this mental detritus aren’t we writing our own history?

Oh, look.  I’ve gone off track.  🙂

From time to time, I carry a smooth polished stone in my pocket.  It’s calming to have something so perfectly smooth.  My stone of choice is a hematite. If you’re into that sort of thing, here’s what it means in the crystal world:

Hematite is a stone that is most commonly — and most strongly — used to ground or stabilize and for protection. In spiritual work, hematite is an excellent stone to help keep yourself also connected to the Earth plane, as some would say via the silver cord, so that your spiritual learnings and travels can be done safely and things learned can be brought back to daily life more easily.

I chose it because I love the color.

It’s a secret that only I know. And perhaps, it keeps me grounded…much like carrying my book bag of stuff with me. Much like my father’s bags.

Maybe I do carry more in my pockets than I realized.

5 thoughts on “What’s In My Pocket…

  1. That bag is AWESOME!

    What would be found in my pocket most days is my phone, and also a post-it note with something written on it I don’t want to forget, such as the name of a show I want to watch when I get home or a list of items I need to buy from the store on my way home from work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I carry a lot of similar stuff, but add in a spiral and legal pad for outlining. I recently bought one of those large overnight rolling laptop bags. It’s so convenient! I chose one with lots of little pockets and I love it. I also have a pen addiction/love/issue, which I am in no way ashamed of.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Well the only person you have to make happy when you go somewhere is you. I carry a bag too because I have a broken tailbone and I keep one of those cut out cushions in it (and a bag with pens lol). I was self conscious about carrying all that at first, but I got over it quickly.

        Like

Leave a Reply

