TBT: A Thirteen-year-old’s Mixtape

You better damn well believe that I had these songs in heavy rotation in 1990. Okay, so I was thirteen. IT DOESN’T MATTER.

These songs make me happy and if I were to make you a mix tape, most of these songs I would’ve pulled from the radio, complete with dj’s cutting in. You’ll just have to deal. 😉

DJ Soul was on a roll
I been told he can’t be sold
Not vicious or malicious
Just de-lovely and delicious

 Poison
Yeah spot a man of freedom for a fact aah-aah uh-hum
Poison you ready Ron I’m ready
You ready Dave I’m ready Slick are you
Oh yeah break it down

Greta Garbo
And Monroe
Deitrich
And DiMaggio
Marlon Brando
Jimmy Dean
On the cover
Of a magazine

I never knew love could be so sweet
It never made a difference to me, well well
But ever since the day that you appeared
I’m telling you, you’ve made the difference now love is so clear

Wake up little Susie, wake up
Wake up little Susie, wake up
We both fell sound asleep
Wake up little Susie and weep
The movie’s over, it’s four O’clock
And we’re in trouble deep

Though honestly, I can’t listen to one of these songs without thinking of this movie. Flames at the side of my head….

4 thoughts on “TBT: A Thirteen-year-old’s Mixtape

  1. Pingback: Music and Mixtapes | Untitled, Unfinished

Leave a Reply

