A is Apple (Products)

A is for Apple...
A is for Apple…

I have a sixth generation classic (second revision) iPod lovingly named Hamish. Once, a long time ago and several blogs ago, I asked my readers to name my (fifth generation) iPod. Is the link working? There’s a possibility that it’s not.

Honestly, I don’t remember where I got the name Hamish from. Depending on your leaning, Hamish could mean

English Meaning:
The name Hamish is an English baby name. In English the meaning of the name Hamish is: Supplant. Replace.derived from the latin Jacomus.

Scottish Meaning:
The name Hamish is a Scottish baby name. In Scottish the meaning of the name Hamish is: James – in Gaelic, Seumas, Seanius.

SoulUrge Number: 1
People with this name have a deep inner desire to use their abilities in leadership, and to have personal independence. They would rather focus on large, important issues, and delegate the details.

Expression Number: 4
People with this name tend to be orderly and dedicated to building their lives on a solid foundation of order and service. They value truth, justice, and discipline, and may be quick-tempered with those who do not. Their practical nature makes them good at managing and saving money, and at building things in the material world. Because of their focus on order and practicality, they may seem overly cautious and conservative at times.

or:

of the vocative case of the Scottish Gaelic Seumas: Sheumais. The Scottish Gaelic Seumas is the equivalent to the English James.

or:

The definition of hamish, also known as haimish, is Yiddish slang for cozy and homey.

.

According to my husband, who laughed heartily when I told him the name said that I was the opposite of welcoming, which is another meaning for Hamish in Yiddish. Yes, I gave my husband *The Look.* For those of you who know me in life, *The Look* is deadly and feared by all rational people. And perhaps some irrational people. Come to think of it, a lot of irrational people fear it. So, what does that say about me? Nothing really. I’m running at the mouth (fingertips) again.

Where was I?

*ahem*

Right, Apple products.

My first iPod was a clunky third generation iPod that remained unnamed to the end of its days. I still have it and really, I have no idea what to do with it. I wore it. No, seriously. I tucked it into my front left pocket so much that I managed to dent the damn thing. That was a horribly upsetting day when the Apple dude told me that he could nothing for the iPod and pointed out the dent to me. (I can tell you I never bought *that* iPod protector again.)

My second iPod ran out of room. Literally. I couldn’t honestly tell you how much space was on the thing, but to suddenly find out that I had run up against the wall of space was just as upsetting as denting the damn thing. How was I supposed to choose which songs stay on the iPod and which didn’t? Don’t talk to me about the Minis, Shuffles, Nanos. NOT ENOUGH SPACE. I must have *all* the songs on my iPod or it’s useless to me. It’s like picking your favorite child out of three. Or choosing which of the five books you borrowed from the library that you’re going to tote around with you on your daily jaunts. Not happening.

By the way, the second iPod was named Wayne and it came with me on our honey to Europe.

I finally bought my third (and last if Apple holds its word never to produce another iPod again) iPod in 2007, trading in Wayne for Hamish (when they gave discounts for trading in Apple products for the newer versions. Do they still do that, I wonder?). I’ve just recently come close to the halfway mark the unused space – I told myself, if I got another iPod, then I better damn well get one that has a *ton* of space.

The latest songs on Hamish are

Don’t judge. If you aren’t dancing to either one of these songs, there *might* be something wrong and I implore you to seek medical attention.

When I read that Apple was discontinuing the iPod line, I was very, very dismayed. How dare you get rid of a unilateral object that’s been replaced by a gadget that does multiple things.

Oh.

Look, as I’ve said before, I love my unilateral gadget that only does one thing. (Damn you, Apple for ending the line! Do you know how hard it is to manage music on my phone?! IT’S HARD. Sorry. I have all the feels, as the kids would say.) Nothing distracts me from really concentrating on the music if I am listening to Hamish (by the way, the original draft of this post, I wrote in my journal. My laptop would only distract me. While I cannot write at the speed of thought, there’s something nice about writing distraction free…now if I could my wrists to properly cooperate…)

Where was I?

Right.

Distractions.

It’s just me and the music. My husband doesn’t quite understand my fascination with music. Perhaps, the music distracts me from my own thoughts. Maybe it hindering me from doing something else. Maybe, it is; maybe it isn’t. Perhaps, it’s solidifying the thoughts and memories that are filtering through the music. Perhaps, it’s helping me center myself. Maybe, it’s all of this.

But you still have a question, I see, Dear Reader.

But why, Charlie, Apple products? Aren’t you afraid of their control on your music?

*shrugging* Maybe I don’t care enough. Or maybe I’ve invested too much time, energy, and money to convert to another system.

Look, if I had the money, I would have the latest Apple product. I’d have the MacBook Air or the iPad – but not the Apple Watch. I don’t care enough for the watch. That just seems ridiculous to me. But I don’t have the money. I have other things to worry about. I’ll just gaze longingly at all the shiny products; give it a full five seconds of my attention and then move on to something else.

I’m not sure what I’ll do if Hamish ever *gasp* bites the dust. I’ll mourn, most likely, curse the heavens, and then go looking for another mp3 player.

7 thoughts on “A is Apple (Products)

  1. Hamish, I LOVED your blog. You are quite creative and I LOVE to dance so the music is perfect. Btw, my name in Welsh means “white or pure.” My life number is a 9. I forgot what my Soul Urge is. Thanks for the fun!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. OOPS!! Your iPod is Hamish… Nice to meet you Charlie! I once worked in the Mac world, but I’m a “people person” not technical like you. You don’t happen to live in Poulsbo do you??????? 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

