Eclectic Essays

EWhen I was a senior in high school and applying for colleges and universities (thirteen schools because I wanted out of my home state) most of them asked for an essay.  You know, to assess your writing skills, blah, blah, blah.  The essay question to the university that I eventually attended was as open-ended as open-ended could be.  It’s been twenty years (!!!) since I got here and thus my college days, but I think the question went like this:  “Tell us about yourself.”

Seriously.

Seriously?

You’ve got to be kidding.

I thought and thought about what I wanted to write about.  Should I boast about myself? Should I be humble?  Should I write about what I accomplished? Who I admired?

What.the.hell.do.I.write.about.

I took a few days to ponder the question, because yeah and then I just started writing.  (I wrote this longhand.  I’m not sure why I just didn’t use the typewriter or computer sitting downstairs, but I think I had some reason for handwriting the essay.)

Anyway, I started writing an essay about my varied interests. I called myself eclectic. Eclectic:

ec·lec·tic
əˈklektik/
adjective
  1. 1.
    deriving ideas, style, or taste from a broad and diverse range of sources.
    “her musical tastes are eclectic”
  2. 2.
    PHILOSOPHY
    of, denoting, or belonging to a class of ancient philosophers who did not belong to or found any recognized school of thought but selected such doctrines as they wished from various schools.
noun
  1. 1.
    a person who derives ideas, style, or taste from a broad and diverse range of sources.

Which describes me to a tee. I am interested in many, many things. In my Evernote account, I have many articles that have piqued my interest in some fashion.  For instance, in the notebook marked “Writing Ideas (Blog, Stories, Etc.)” are articles such as:

The stranger, the better.  Often, I will get lost in Wikipedia rabbit hole following link after link after link.  Oh, and if I am in a mood, the more disturbing the article, the more fascinated I become.  It also doesn’t fail to scare me as well.

I’m not sure what kind of crazy essay I would have written if I had such access to the internet twenty years ago.  Well, I have an inking anyway…I’m also pretty sure they would think twice about allowing me to enter their school.

*shrugs*

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go figure out the region of Oceania/Micronesia.

8 thoughts on “Eclectic Essays

  1. I totally flubbed my one college entrance essay. To be fair, it asked me to write the damn thing in Japanese, and I waited until literally the night before it was due to write it, so I suppose we’re both a little to blame. Fortunately the university that I finally got into didn’t require an essay because by that time I was old enough to be considered a “mature student” which I suppose means “you should be old enough to know your way around the English language by now.” Heheh. Suckers. 😛

    N J Magas, author

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Variety | Untitled, Unfinished

Leave a Reply

