On My Kindness

K

Kindness, at least according to this definition is defined as:

kindness

noun
1.  the state or quality of beingkindkindness to animals.
2.  kind act; favor: his many kindnesses to me.
3.  kind behavior: I will never forget your kindness.
4.  friendly feeling; liking.

Which honestly, doesn’t make much sense.  It doesn’t define anything.  This definition from everyone’s go-to (Wikipedia) says that “kindness is a behavior marked by ethical characteristics, a pleasant disposition, and concern for others.  It is known as a virtue, and recognized as a value in many cultures.”

But often, I don’t feel particularly kind.  I often want to do things that are wrong.  I want to say the worst things possible.  I want to make people hurt.  It’s true that I’ve never acted on any of these impulses but those thoughts never sit well on my mind and make me feel gross and weird.

(Am I sociopath?  I don’t know.  I don’t think so but I still wonder.)

So, are you reading a blog by someone who is supremely unkind?  I don’t think so, but I often have my doubts.  I am by no means virtuous.  Ethical?  Probably.

I suppose really I should say that I’m not kind all the time.  Wouldn’t that be so…tiring?  I don’t know.  I can’t look at myself objectively to know.

3 thoughts on “On My Kindness

  1. Since when are any of us always or even sometimes “kind?” I think about my experiences in society sometimes and wonder if people even have heard of the word. So, don’t have doubts about yourself. We have our good days and our bad. We are human. We keep trying though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

