Silence

S

I don’t make a lot of noise, unless I want to, of course.  But for the most part, I keep quiet, silent in my observation of the world.  I have no need to add my voice to the cacophony of everyday life.  I can sit back and just see what’s going on around me.  My husband used to tell me that I lived inside my head too much, but I think he’s revised this assertion of me  – I think it happened when he became a full-time teacher, fifteen years ago.  He’s more appreciative of the stillness and quiet that I seem to exude.

For the most part, I really appreciate the silence in the world, mostly because there doesn’t seem to be a lot of it these days. There are plenty of people in my life who cannot stand the silence and tries their very hardest to fill it up, mostly with them talking which requires me to pay attention and respond lest I am rude.  It makes me sad for those people who absolutely cannot stand silences.  But then again, they probably feel sorry for me for not being able to stand a lot of noise.

*shrugs*

Such is.

Anyway, my favorite type of silence comes in the middle of the night.  When everyone is asleep and I just woke up for a brief time.  The house softly settles, my husband (sometimes not) gently snores, my cat who is sitting on my head is purring content.  It’s comforting silence, you know?

7 thoughts on “Silence

  1. Yes, there is something especially comforting about the silence in the middle of the night. Sometimes, when I can’t sleep, that is when I come down to write. I love the serenity and how at peace I feel. Thanks for reminding me. Oh yes, I’m chuckling. My cat used to sleep in my head too! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: On Silence | Untitled, Unfinished

Leave a Reply

