TBT: Glimpses into the Past

I love old photos, anything from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries makes me curl my toes in delight. I’m sure many of us have seen these pictures, you know the ones of the teenager in red.

No?

You haven’t seen it?

Good thing that I’m here. I stared at these pictures wondering about Christina and her day-to-day life. Would she have known that a century later people would be so enamoured of these pictures? I’m sure that thought didn’t cross her mind. Then again, I’m not her, so I can’t possibly know. Was she annoyed by her father requesting her to pose for pictures that may or may not turn out? Was she allowed to show her friends these pictures? Did she even show her future partner the pictures? Did she live long enough to do so?

Tantalizing as they are, they don’t answer any of these questions, sadly.

These pictures I found of Old Pittsburgh are fascinating. Pittsburghers, if you didn’t know, like to give directions as such:

Make a right where the Poli’s used to be.

Or:

I’ll meet you at the Kaufmann’s Clock.

If you aren’t from Pittsburgh these directions don’t making f’ing sense. Give me street names! *ahem* Sorry. Anyway, the old Pittsburgh pictures are glimpses into a past that we’ll never fully live. Cobblestone streets? Air thick with pollution? Steelworkers coming off long shifts covered in dirt and grime? Nope. Not a single one of modern people know this. Oh, sure, there are still cobblestone streets, the air pollution isn’t quite so thick and the dirt and grime on working people isn’t so noticeable.

One day, we’ll point to pictures of the intersection of Murray, Forward, and Poccusset Streets and say:

That’s where Poli’s used to be.

Two more links before I finish.

This set of pictures of a honeymoon are so heartbreakingly beautiful. Did the couple featured in the pictures last? Did they go their separate ways? Are they still around, showing their grandchildren these exact pictures?

Lastly, these pictures seem so unreal; the people and colors long gone.  Nostalgia crossed with wonder.

Leave a Reply

