100 Objects: The Ten Year Old Scarf

My first post, I wrote about was a piece of clothing. This one to be exact. It’s that blue plaid shirt that I love so much.

This piece is about the oldest scarf I own.

Honestly, I won’t write about pieces of clothing that I own. I promise.

Pinky swear.

My tenth anniversary is coming up on the sixteenth.  We’ve done a lot in our ten years and sometimes, not enough.  Heh, isn’t that life?  Anyway, for our honeymoon we went on a cruise in the Mediterranean on the Princess Cruise lines.  If you’ve never been on a cruise, especially one that’s two weeks they tend to have those dinners where it’s highly suggested that you dress up.  I mean, more than usual.  I prepared for that part, but not for the part where I’d be cold.

Like perpetually cold.  Those dining rooms were beautiful but oh so cold and I had no sweater with me.  Well, one that was right anyway.  On this particular cruise ship and I’m sure it’s the same with others they have a multitude of gift shops. We splurged in one where my husband bought a new fancy watch (one that was repaired several times over because he’s not gentle with watches) and where I bought my black scarf. It looks like this.  You know, a black shawl that can double as a scarf – which often it does.

It’s comfortable and worn and again, so very me.  I’ve worn it during all four seasons – yes, even in the summer.  Have you never worked in an office before?  The temperature never suits anyone and leaves those who get cold easily perpetually cold.

It smells like me, which according to my husband, smells “clean.”  No matter how many times I take it to the dry cleaners (because of course, it needs to be dry cleaned. *sigh*) it still has a trace of my perfume on it.  It makes anything I wear look classy and ready to go out.  I have no illusions that it’s going to last me another ten years, not with how often I wear it and when it finally bites the dust, I’ll go out and buy myself another black shawl/scarf…but it won’t be the same as the old one.

One thought on “100 Objects: The Ten Year Old Scarf

  1. Pingback: 100 Objects: Bracelets and Watches – Untitled, Unfinished

Leave a Reply

