Literary Awakenings: Agatha Christie and Stephen King

I read this article on buzzfeed aboutliterary awakenings a few months ago and I thought, well, what book did spark my literary awakening?

I wrote about childhood books before, but while I was an avid reader as a kid, I don’t think it really really awakened my love of literature until I read my first Hercule Poirot.  [Side note #1:  By the way, David Suchet will always be my Hercule Poirot. With deep regards to Peter Ustinov, Alber Finney, and the rest but Mr. Suchet will *always* be Hercule Poirot to me. Just like Jeremy Brett will *always* be Sherlock Holmes for some people. Benedict Cumberbatch will always be my Sherlock Holmes.  I am also fully aware of just how much Sherlock Holmes influenced Agatha Christie.]

Anyway, Hercule Poirot and his little grey cells awoke something in me that I haven’t been able to turn away from since.  While he and Hastings were products of the early twentieth century, I always imagined that I could and would fit right into their adventures.  I’m sure if I wasn’t so busy dreaming of this scenario, I would’ve written some pretty amusing fanfic.  I can’t entirely pin down what age I started ripping through the books but every time we went to the grocery store, another Agatha Christie novel would find its way into the cart. Miss Marple never did it for me but I loved Tommy and Tuppence to death. I loved how playful they were. Now, that I’m thinking about, I believe there’s a recent BBC series? Something I’ll have to search.

The other writer that I associate with this time is Stephen King. I don’t know why. I don’t know how. I don’t know how I wasn’t stopped but I wasn’t. So there. I started with Needful Things and ended with The Drawing of the Three during that short time. I won’t say much about Needful Things because it wasn’t as impactful on me as The Gunslinger was on me.  I understand that the first book was not everyone’s favorite.  [Side note #2:  My husband hated this book.  He thought it was too wordy, with not enough action, etc, etc, etc.]  This will always be my favorite book.  Reading The Drawing of the Three confused me.   [Side note #3:  Spoilers.]  I wanted to stay in Roland’s strange version of Earth.  I didn’t want to flip back and forth between our world and Roland’s world.  Even though we did a bit of this when King wrote about Jake’s death.  It wasn’t as such of a shock then as it was in The Drawing of the Three.  I was and remain deeply fascinated by Roland’s world before it moved on.  I wasn’t ready for a world was that shockingly familiar.

It wasn’t until my early 30’s that I decided to reread the book again.  It was fine and so are the rest of the books.  Better than fine really, but after my first distrust of the second book, I read the rest of the series trying to keep my opinion to myself.  I’ll reread the entire series again, this time with an eye on the prequels and graphic novels.  Maybe, I’ll have the same reaction I had when I was twelve.  Maybe, my reaction will be different.  Who knows.

Leave a Reply

