StaDA September 2015: Mystery Monday

Again, I took the prompt and twisted it to my needs.

I was supposed to be the villain in this story, thought Ambrož, and not the hero.  Though, he continued, I suppose later on down the line I could *still* be the villain.  He drew himself up, back straight, and assumed an air of confidence and charm, something he most certainly did not feel in his heart.  He meant to break into the woman’s house and steal a few items, one of which was the prized Miller’s Ruby that was flaunted earlier in the evening.  What he did not anticipate was the fight to the death between the woman and the would-be murderer.

When Ambrož entered the living room, the woman screamed with what breath she had left.  She was locked in a choke hold with someone else – a very heavily muscled man – and she was about to lose.  The man turned, sensing someone else, choked off a startled cry of his own.  Upon seeing the half-unconscious woman, whom the would-be murderer had dropped and the other man, Ambrož also screamed but quickly recovered.

The murderer and Ambrož stared at each other.

“Who the fuck are you?” finally said the almost-murderer.

“And here I was about to ask you the same thing,” Ambrož said and smirked.  

The woman just panted heavily on the floor.

“Get out.  This isn’t a matter for you,” said the almost-murderer.

“Oh, I think not,” Ambrož said, his smirk turning into a smile.  “You see, I am here to take something very beautiful and shiny from this woman and perhaps a few other choice baubles,” Ambrož paused considering his words, “II was not, however, planning on taking her life.  I am a thief, not a murderer.  You know that murderers are the lowest of the low, do you not?”  

The other man just growled at him and made to move towards him.

“Ah, I see that you do not.  Well, never mind, in the end, it matters not.  Murderers are the lowest of the low and you sir, are almost a murderer.  I saw almost because you have not finished your heinous task.  The woman, while being very arrogant about her wealth, still deserves the same chance at life that you and I deserve.  No one has the right to take away our lives, no matter what you might think.  You do think, do you not?”

“You talk too much,” the other man said, flexing his muscles.

“Perhaps, but I have given the madame apply enough time to defend herself,” Ambrož said just as the woman brought down the very sharp and very large knife on the man’s foot.  The man howled in pain as Ambrož tackled him to the ground, punching him several times.  The man screamed again as the woman pulled up the knife and skewered his leg.  Ambrož pinned the man to the ground until he was sure that he passed out from shock and perhaps a little blood loss.  He rolled off the prone man and looked at the woman who was staring at him with wide eyes.  

“Oh, don’t mind me,” he panted regaining his composure.  “I’m just going to call the police.  Judging from the amount of blood this guy’s losing, I should be doing it soon.”  Ambrož pulled out his mobile and dialed the local police, giving them the address.  “And please, for the love of god, don’t send over Baudoin.  Lord knows that his stupid bald head will ruin all the pictures that need to be taken.  Plus, he is a cheapskate and a womanizer.  How could one be on the police force, I’ll never know.” Ambrož sighed and looked over at the woman.  “Now, what are we going to do with you?  Oh, don’t look so scared.  I wouldn’t save your life just to kill you myself!  I’m a thief and therefore, I have some sort of honor and code.”  He looked thoughtfully at her again.  “But then again, you really shouldn’t be awake when the police get here.”  Ambrož pulled himself up and took a vase from the table, judging its heft.  “I’m so sorry, Madame.  But I am here to steal from you,” he said gently and knocked her out.  He glanced at his watch, rolled his shoulders and went to work.  

###

What?  Did you actually think that Ambrož would actually murder somebody?  [Side note:  Damn, it’s going to be a shame when I am forced to kill him….maybe.]
.

3 thoughts on “StaDA September 2015: Mystery Monday

  1. Ambrosz is certainly quite the character.

    “You talk too much,” the other man said, flexing his muscles.

    I also have to say, that line got a good chuckle out of me. I’m not sure if it was supposed to be funny, but I just pictured the murderer posing and flexing his biceps while threatening Ambrosz. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

