Random Picture Saturday and Perhaps my Prompt

Taken by me, your's truly.
Taken by me, your’s truly.

Since, the prompt for today hasn’t been emailed or posted on the website (Thanks, guys.) I decided to post a picture and perhaps, prompt my own damn self.

###

Lily couldn’t sleep.  She stared out her window as the fog rolled in, covering everything in a fine dewy mist.  She shivered, pulling the blanket tighter across her shoulders.  In the next room, she heard Ambrož turn over fitfully.  He couldn’t sleep either.  She picked up the mug of hot tea from the window sill and turned her attention back outside.  The fog refracted the street lights, turning the world outside peaceful.

This, of course, was a lie.

Her mind was a jumble of emotions, thoughts swirling and crashing into each other.  She felt sick all over again.  Lily did not want to do what was required of her. But as ______ told her, if she did not her contract would never end and she would never be free of the Divine Hand.

Ambrož’s door opened and out stepped the man himself, looking rumpled and grumpy.  Lily’s stomach twisted again.

“Couldn’t sleep either?” she asked softly.

“No, it’s too damn muggy here,” Ambrož muttered.  His eyes widened as he saw the tea in her hands.  “You can’t possibly tell me that your cold?”

Lily smiled.  “It’s calming and helps me fall asleep.”

Ambrož grunted.  “Is it working?”

“No, not right now,” she said truthfully.  Lily eyed him carefully.  “Something on your mind?”

Ambrož didn’t answer her for several minutes.  “Perhaps.  But it’s something that I have to work on.  I don’t want to bother you with it.”

Lily nodded.  “I can be a good listener if you’d like,” she said and turned back to the window.

Ambrož didn’t say anything as he joined her by the window.

###

The plot is taking its damn sweet mind to form.  I suppose that’s okay.  I’ve never quite written like this before, so we’ll see what we have at the end of September. Again, poor unnamed antagonist.  I promise to find you a name and characterization.

One thought on “Random Picture Saturday and Perhaps my Prompt

  1. Pingback: StaDA September 20015: Odd Couples | Untitled, Unfinished

Leave a Reply

