State of the Blog: I just want to write

Life is not going to slow down.  That’s not how life works.  We all know this.  It’s a fact.

And that’s fine.  I know this, you know this.

Anyway, I’m going to modify the regular features.  Okay, not modify, but change. I’m going to change the regular features, because, of course, I can.

I haven’t quite decided what the new regular features will be…or if I even have regular features.  The past six months, I’ve been getting more and more into the business side of writing (yah?) and it seems that most of the advice for bloggers out there are those who want to make money or gain more readers.  Both, of course, are fine.  It’s your blog.  Who am I to tell you what to do with your blog?

While this advice is awesome, it doesn’t quite fit my blog.  Maybe, one day, it will. Maybe I will become that full-time freelance writer and need a professional blog with writing samples and a professional headshot.  I don’t have a business to sell.  I don’t exactly have advice to dole out – hell, I don’t even feel like an expert in anything.  I’m doing the best I can and I suspect y’all are doing the same.

I came across this article about writing from the heart while scrolling through my Feedly feed (No, *that’s* not as awkward as I think it is…unless it is.)  The first piece of advice that was starting at me was this one:

Find your own voice.

Yes, of course, find your own voice.  I’ve always written in the same way that I speak.  Except if it’s for a professional or academic piece.  Then it gets a special treatment, which may or may include a lot of anxiety-inducing handwringing and pleas from more well-written friends (I’m looking at youyouyou, and my husband who doesn’t have a blog but used to a very long time ago.) to look over my piece. Grammarly, by the way, says that I am wordy, have improper preposition use, improper formatting, and improper complex and compound sentence punctuation.

*shrugs*

Sorry, not sorry.

Anyway, what was I saying?

Right.  Finding my own voice.

In grad school, my classmates told me that I didn’t speak up often, which wasn’t bad.  It just meant that I usually hold my opinions until, I really had something of use to say.   It’s part of my appeal, holding back my opinions to let the shouting die down.  I sound more authoritative and awesome when I do.  Try it.  Anyway, my voice – my writing voice – is the same on the blank page as it is in real life.  I don’t know who else’s it would be.  That would be weird.

I just want to write.

I’m constantly amazed, fascinated, and a little intimidated by those who have a blogging schedule, brainstorm ideas, and have checklists.  Kudos to you.  You guys have cultivated a skill that I have yet to learn (and most likely never will).  I also will blame the fact that I have had some form of the blog for the past ten and a half years.  Okay, granted, most of those years weren’t quality blogs or had quality content.  I was screwing around.

Well, I’m actually still just screwing around come to think of it.

This and past incarnations of the blog are just like my real journals.  There’s no rhyme or reason for the most part.  I write about whatever I want to write, spelling and grammar be damned.  So, I don’t write about my real life friends and family…that’s what the journal is about.  The blog, I suppose, is about me being comfortable speaking up.

Even if what I say isn’t unique or mind-blowing.  I’m just one person, happy to babble on here, uncaring if people read me or not.  My ego won’t take damage if I don’t get the readership of someone more put together than I am.  I’m pretty happy with the way things are going here.  It was never about other people.  It was (and is) all about me and cultivating a writing habit.

So, there you go.  In the current incarnation, the state of the blog will remain pretty much the same.  Whether or not, I have regular features remains to be seen.  I can tell you, that I like writing prompts.

Okay, thanks for reading.  I hope all is well with you.

One thought on “State of the Blog: I just want to write

  1. Pingback: State of the Union: Or, More Specifically, How I’m Doing | Untitled, Unfinished

Leave a Reply

