State of the Union: Or, More Specifically, How I’m Doing

I wrote a State of the Blog post a few days ago, but I didn’t really go into details about what I’m doing personally…or how I’m feeling.

Things at work are a little strained.  Our state hasn’t passed a budget yet and while we continue to provide services to those who most need it (even if they don’t or can’t admit it yet) we aren’t getting paid for all our hard work.  Naturally, this puts a strain on everyone.  Also, coupled with the fact that we’ve had to do a request for proposals (RFP) for one of our biggest services.  While we have provided this particular program for a better part of a decade the governing body decided to put it out to bid.  So, there’s always a chance that we may not get the bid back.  What does that mean?  It means, dear reader, that come January, we may have to do some things that we just don’t want to do or haven’t had to do ever.

We’re a non-profit for Pete’s sake.  It’s obvious that we are not made of money.

Just ask me.

On Thursday, I started Lupron injections, which if you clicked on the link said that it was used to treat prostate cancer.  Awesome.  I had no idea.  For my purposes, the Lupron is the first injection in an IVF cycle.  By the time I am finished, I will be injecting myself three times a day with different types of medicine in the hopes that I will be able to produce some damn fine eggs.  Of course, IVF is never a guarantee of a successful pregnancy.

Just ask me.

At the end of the year, it will have been a year since I lost Tadpole.  I don’t know what I’m doing and that’s okay.  I suspect no one knows what they are doing and if they say otherwise, they are big fat liars.

There other things going on in my life which isn’t my drama, per se, but I am an unwilling observer and sometime participant in it.

Mark the time.

Anyway, I’ve tried to write something professionally today.  I’ve failed.  However, I did accept two articles that ultimately won’t be attributed to me but I will enjoy writing and researching it.

Leave a Reply

