Welcome to the Modern Age

LAF wrote this post about finally stepping into the digital age.

I wrote this response:

My dear, as you know, I live with a self-confessed former Luddite.  When I showed him the capabilities of what the digital world can do he changed his tune quickly.  Of course, I told him the wonders of the modern age.  He tuned me out.  So…when faced with your own struggle to have a smartphone, I (and I suspect many others) just let you have at it.  Some people learn by doing.  Others by listening.  I and suspect you, learn by doing.  I can’t (won’t?) tell you *what* to do, just let you be.  Showing and having patience, especially regarding technology seems to be the name of the game.

And then I decided, fuck it.  I’ll turn the response into a post.  It’s not what I posted, it’s what I almost posted.  

So, technically, this is a prompt post.

One for posting today and two for hitting a prompt.

Yah for me and writing.

In her post, she writes about how much her smartphone (dubbed Trinket) has changed her life.  She’s still wary about it but also realizes the benefits of such a magical handheld device (My words, not her’s.)  She calls herself a Luddite which reminds me of my husband and his absolute (former) reflectance to the Internet and smartphones.  Okay, to be fair, he still doesn’t like smartphones too much.  It’s too small for him and his sausage like fingers (his words, not mine) and he’s not comfortable looking at the screen.  

I suppose I could get him a bigger phone, but he’s not interested and I’m not committed into talking him into a bigger device, especially if he doesn’t use it.  Also, he’s hard on his phones.  He forgets them, drops them, lets the batteries down (ignores) doesn’t hear the phone ring.  But it’s just handy for emergency purposes.  He’s fine with a not-too-bright smartphone.

But when he finally stepped the 9 ¾ platform with me to journey into the Internet?  Well, that was mind-blowing.  He spends a fair amount of time on it and has even learned some of more useful side of the Internet…and also, the not so useful sides of the Internet.  

I’m looking at you Web MD.  That site shouldn’t exist for hypochondriacs.  

Anyway, the Modern Age.  He recognizes the good that it can do, but he’s not so bound up in it that he has to be connected at all times.  He leaves that for his darling wife.  

 

3 thoughts on “Welcome to the Modern Age

  1. I think showing people the internet for the first time is one of the most rewarding experiences – because you know it’s going to have such a huge effect on their life. It’s a huge enabler, isn’t it…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

