Blogging 201: Set Three Goals

Because I am a glutton for punishment.

(Take that as you will.)

You know, I’ve been blogging off and on since early 2005.  I’ve treated my blog, almost the same way I’m treating it now:  as a journal that happens to be online.  No, I don’t post up the ephemra that catches my eye, that’s what FeedlyEvernote, and Pinterest are for…oh, and my paper journal. Posting up what catches my eye isn’t interesting to everyone.  Just me.

I’m listening to Sarah Werner’s podcast as I’m writing this, if that gives you any hint as to where my writing head is.  She’s got an interesting Midwestern accent.  I like it and it makes me smile.  Her accent.  And her podcast.

Anyway, I’m off topic.  I’m sorry.

Today’s assignment has me asking myself this very important thing:

Consider what you want to accomplish with your blog.  Write down three concrete goals.

In my (paper) journal – this blog is just another type of journal for me, where what I write may or may not be read.  My paper journal only has me for a reader. – I wrote this:

Three concrete blogging goals:

  1. Increase reader engagement. (This, I suppose, forces me to self-promote.  *sigh*)
  2. Writer longer pieces. (500 words or more.  I’ve always aimed for 500 words or more.  Most of the time that doesn’t happen.)
  3. Comment meaningfully on more blogs. (I know I’ll feel like a tool. But I’ll do it anyway.)

That’s at first blush, mind you.  The rest of the assignment asks me these questions:

Why do you blog?  For notoriety?  To get a book contract?  To self-publish?  To establish yourself as a leader in your field?  To gain followers?  To connect with others?  To clarify your own thoughts?

If your blog exceeded your wildest dreams, what would that look like?  Would you have a different design?  How many followers would you have?  How much traffic?  What sort of community would participate?  How often would you post?

And I wrote:  I blog because I want to and I can.  It focuses my thoughts and helps me to devleop as a writer.  I’ve realized that I’m going to produce more as a non-fiction writer.  And as certain people say “writers write…” as much as I hate to admit that anything he says is true.  He’s right.

Writing – especially for an audience who may or may not be there – forces me to focus on what I’m actually writing.  Yes, I’m speaking and I suppose since I am publishing this on my blog, I actually want to be heard.  Do I want some sort of connection with others?

Don’t we all want some sort of connection with others?

If my blog exceeded my wildest dreams…well, I suppose the design would be a bit different.  I’d have more followers and more traffic.  I’d like a like-minded community participating and my posting?  Well, I’d stick true to myself and try to post daily.

Don’t look at me like that.  Writing and posting everyday forces me to write.  I know not everyone reads what I write.  And yes, while I said previously that I like being heard, it’s just not necessary.

I’ve already listed my three specific goals.  Now, I didn’t put a time table on it.  I’m just going to assume that it’ll happen.  (Because my ego is just that huge.  Indulge me, won’t you?)

*ahem*

Now, I’ve been looking into a blogging planner and decided against it. Mainly because I prefer a paper planner and secondly because I just don’t want to carry another damn thing around.  I’ll make do with my midori/bullet journal agenda.

Yes, I smushed the two.  Get off my lawn.

 

Anyway, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Leave a Reply

