2015 in Words

I was casting about trying to think of things to write when I came upon this post.

Give it a read.  I’ll wait.

Done?  Awesome.

So, I’ve been blogging on *this* blog for about a year.  I’ve been blogging in general, off and on, since 2005.  2005 was a big year for me.  I got married and we moved into our house that year.  I was also semi-promoted at a job that I wasn’t crazy about.

But that’s for another post.

So,  last year, I upped my posting by deciding to post almost every day.  I participated in some challenges (Blogging 101, Writing 201, Photography 101 – though I didn’t finish it, A to Z Blogging, Story-a-Day) and developed an editorial calendar that I ditched in November.

I also started freelancing on a whim and got into it quickly, which lead to some actual articles that paid more than pennies – including that one in US News and World Report.  It hasn’t posted yet…despite me finishing it back in October.  I most certainly got paid for it.  I have a byline and an author picture and it’s all ready to go…I’m just waiting for them.

*shrugs*

I’ve tried writing in my journal more – that remains hit and miss, unfortunately.

Oh, I’ve also embraced calling myself a writer and telling people about it. (That’s huge for me, you have no idea.)

So, what’s next?

Well, I keep writing, of course.  Continue to embrace the writer within and publish more pieces.  Perhaps, this year, I’ll be able to say that I’m a published short story writer?

Maybe.

Baby steps.

2 thoughts on “2015 in Words

    1. I think, I’m slowly working towards writing for a living. I think I’ve *always* been working towards that goal. The genre has changed but the goal remains the same. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

