The Monday List: The Books

I do love my lists.

  1. I started the whole writing challenge thing on Saturday morning right when I got the email saying that it was open.  My genre is suspense, the setting is a condemned building, and the character is a nanny.  So, I started writing and then I realized that I was writing it in the present tense.  Then I realized that it was in second-person.  I shrugged and continued to write until I couldn’t write anymore (that was about 2 in the morning).  I haven’t looked at it because I’m not finished.  The max number of words is 2,500 and the deadline is Saturday (I think).  I won’t be looking at it until I actually finish it.  Then I will have my lovely friends read it.  Then I will cringe and rewrite until I absolutely cannot do it anymore.  Then I will upload it and be done. What else can I do?
  2. It snowed over the weekend.  My city didn’t get walloped like the rest of the East Coast but I suppose the snow we did get wasn’t anything to laugh at.  It certainly made driving home unnecessarily perilous.  But whatever.  Our upstairs neighbor shoveled our sidewalk before we got up Saturday morning.  So, that was nice.  By Saturday afternoon, I realized that most people had shoveled.  Even those who were notorious for not doing so.  Someone must have reported them.  Don’t look at me.  I didn’t do it.
  3. I realized while walking around Saturday that I needed new boots.  And that my husband needed boots.  He’s stubborn and will not go with me to find boots.  He will get boots soon because I said so.  A random conversation that we had over the weekend was regarding using The Force vs using the force of my will to get people do things.  If I may go off the deep end of geekery here, I’m no Force-sensitive person.  But I do expect people to do things that I ask them to do.  Most of the time this isn’t a problem.  Then we get to those times when it becomes a problem.  Very quickly, the problem will rectify itself.  Force of will or The Force.  Who cares.  It gets done.   (These are the droids you’re looking for.)
  4. Finally, I spent the weekend reading (when I wasn’t writing – articles, story, and in my journal.  Sadly, not on the blog).  Gloriously, gloriously reading.  I plowed through the last 100 pages The Palace Job by Patrick Weekes.  Yes, the Patrick Weekes who is responsible for my favorite video game – Dragon Age.  I devoured that book.  It’s a very fun read.  Think of it as an Ocean’s Eleven in a fantasy setting. The main character named Loch, pulls together a very diverse set of people (all with a particular set of skills) to break into a palace floating in the clouds.  There are secrets!  Awesome fight scenes!  Snark!  Some romance!  Even more snark!  I highly recommend it.  My husband had reader’s envy.  So much so, that he refuses to let me return the book to the library until he finishes reading it.  I loved the book so much, that I’m actually going to buy a copy for myself.  That’s how much I loved the book.
  5. The second book is Step Aside, Pops: A Hark! A Vagrant Collection by Kate Beaton.  I read her first book this time last year and it seems fitting that I would read her second book around the same time.  I also tore through the book like I was dying of dehydration.  I also highly recommend it.  It’s fun and fantastic.
  6. The third book that I’m reading and haven’t finished is Tanya Huff‘s The Enchantment Emporium the first book in her Gale Women.  *sigh* So…there’s…dubious consent in the book.  Dubious incestuous consent.  The Gale Women run the show and the men…well, the men follow orders. Okay.  There’s an annual ritual where it seems that all eligible male relatives essentially have an orgy with eligible female relatives.  I say dubious consent because…well, read the reviews on the Goodreads page.  Especially from Olivia’s Books.  She summed it up well, leaving me to feel slightly (hugely) conflicted.  I mean, let’s be honest.  It’s fluffy but I’m engaged (somewhat) in it.  I haven’t quit the book but let’s see how I feel when I reach halfway through it.  Our main character, Allie (Alysha Gale) has just arrived in Calgary to take over her dead grandmother’s junk shop.  She’s just hired a leprechaun assistant and met a newspaper report with “extraordinarily blue eyes.  Not the more common bluish gray but a bright, cerulean blue.  A Maxfield Parrish sky-blue.”  I think I may be reading it because I want to see how high the ridiculous level goes.  Yes, I understand it’s fantasy.  But this goes beyond that.
  7. By the way, I’m sorry if there are any fans of this book.  I am just…puzzled.
  8. I’m still reading Cherie Priest‘s Chapelwood and to be honest…I’m just not as into it as I was Maplecroft but I am quite unwilling to stop reading it…for now.  There will come a  point where I will have to renew it from the library and I’ll have to think hard about finishing it.
  9. The third book that I am reading is Nnedi Okorafor‘s Who Fears Death.  I have a feeling that there are some very, very serious and weighty issues in this book.  This book screams at me to read only it.  I am only on page ten but it has certainly grabbed me.
  10. Which also brings me to G Willow Wilson‘s Alif the Unseen, another book that screams at me to read only it.
  11. Let’s cut through the fluffy and get to reading the serious and weighty books then. That’s not to say that there aren’t any serious issues in The Enchantment Emporium but it feels like it’s from a different century while the last two are firmly with the times.  But we’ll see.
  12. Don’t even talk to me about tv shows or other media that I’m consuming.  That’s for another post.
One thought on “The Monday List: The Books

  1. Pingback: The Monday List: The Podcasts (Part I) – Untitled, Unfinished

Leave a Reply

