The Monday List: The Podcasts (Part I)

Listen, I love my lists.  You can find them, herehere, here, and here.  On a Monday, I wrote a list of books.  So, this Monday, I thought I’d write about the podcasts I listen to, whether I’m at work, at home, on my walks, or driving to my parents house.  Because driving long distances is made for listening to podcasts.  Working is made for podcasts as well.  The filing is more enjoyable while someone is speaking about a topic that you find interesting.

  1. Note to Self:  I saw something about this podcast on LAF‘s facebook.  I think. The host of this podcast, Manoush Zomorodi, talks about how technology affects our humanity.  It’s delightful, and I love her voice, and if I ever podcasted, I would try to be her.  But I won’t.  You don’t need to hear my voice.  Plus, I would need to speak out loud, and that’s not going to happen.
  2. Tiny Leaps, Big Changes:  Tiny Leaps is hosted by Gregg Clunis is shorter podcast (at the most 12 minutes) but in this podcast, he packs a lot of info without overwhelming you.  Plus, the info is researched and backed by science. (Science!)  In each episode, he gives his listeners a challenge to complete.  It’s pretty awesome.  And like I said, it’s in bite-sized pieces; easily digestible without being bloated.
  3. BuzzFeed’s Internet Explorer:  Dude, we all know Buzzfeed.  I’m a big fan.  It hits all the pop culture notes for me…which is the whole point of Buzzfeed, I realize.  But this podcast explores the weird side of the internet.  Okay, it’s all weird. And filthy.  And filled with cats.  And sad.  Very, very sad.  Be warned.  This podcast has very salty language and the topics aren’t for everyone.  Listen to this one with headphones on, okay?
  4. City Paper Podcast:  It’s local.  If you’re not local or not planning to come to the city, then you might want to skip this podcast.  Besides, it helps with writing articles.
  5. So You Want to be a Writer:  Australian Writer’s Center:  I haven’t completely made up my mind about this podcast.  I’ll have to wait and see.  Nope, life is too short, and I don’t have the attention span.
  6. Create if Writing:  So, I listen to many podcasts about writing.  If I can’t surround myself with creative people all the time, I can listen to creative people and about their creative process.  This is one of them.
  7. The Accidental Creative:  This is another one about the creative process.  He’s knowledgeable, and it shows.  Also, like Tiny Leaps, most of his episodes are short.
  8. Copyblogger FM:  So, really I’m talking about Rainmaker FM.  Under Rainmaker FM is a whole network of podcasts.  (Much like Nerdist Industries with The Nerdist, which is down below.)  On the flip side of the same coin of writing and creativity lies the…corporate side of writing?  It’s the copywriting that is in our everyday lives. Interesting but sometimes not my cup of tea.
  9. Dear Sugar Radio:  Are you familiar with Cheryl Strayed?  With her book Wild?  How about Dear Sugar?  No?  Why not?  Are we not (Internet) friends?  Go.  Stop reading and at least, read the book.
  10. Marta on the Move:  Another local podcast and this time, I know the lovely Marta. She’s a lovely person, and she interviews interesting people around town.  Again, only relevant if you live in the city.
  11. Write Now with Sarah Werner:  I love listening to her talk about writing.  She doesn’t get treacly (which I appreciate) and understands that not all of her listeners share her beliefs.  She’s very understanding and someone that I would hang out with if we lived in the same area…and knew each other.
  12. The Black Tapes:  I listen to a few dramas.  This is one of them.  It’s about the paranormal and one scientist’s efforts to explain the unexplained.  I may or may not secretly ship Dr. Strand and Alex.  Don’t judge me.
  13. Limetown:  When are you coming back, Limetown?!?!  I need to know what happened to Lia!!  Limetown is about a town where the people have mysteriously disappeared. It’s all very X-Files but without the Mulder, Scully, and their brewing sexual tension.
  14. Beyond Your Blog:  Take note, fellow freelance writers, this podcast talks about freelancing opportunities galore.  Now, there’s a lot of opportunities for mothers who freelance.  Luckily, the titles of each episode will alert you to which ones you might be interested in listening.
  15. ProBlogger Podcast:  Again, another writer and freelancer.  He also talks about the most practical aspects of monetizing your blog.  I listen to this for tips on writing and not necessarily about the money making aspect.

Yes, I broke this post into two parts.  I mean, who wants to read a list that long?  Ten is the recommended max.  Fifteen is pushing it to the limit but 31?  Let’s not go there.  Yes, I listen to 31 podcasts.  Mind you, they don’t update all at once.  Most of the ones I’ve mentioned I’ve already binged on (mostly at work) so I get about five new podcasts a week.

3 thoughts on “The Monday List: The Podcasts (Part I)

  1. Pingback: The Monday List: The Podcasts (Part II) – Untitled, Unfinished

Leave a Reply

