On Journaling

I’m trying to redevelop my blogging habit. I had some clever-ish analogy that I was going to write down but when I did, it looked stupid.  So, insert your own clever analogy and that’s how developing habits is like for me.

Where was I?

Oh, right.

I found this post about what you should journal about.  Now, before I read the rest of the post my mind immediately answered with “anything and everything.”  My journals at the end of their cycle (which for me is about six to months) looks beat up, worn down, and overstuffed.

“It’s supposed to look like that,” my friend remarked to me as she was idly examining the outside of my journal.  The current journal I won from a work fundraiser a few years back and I finally got around to cracking the spine and opening it.  And yes, it looks…tired.  The corners are peeling, the cover is fraying, and it doesn’t stay closed anymore.  If you follow me on Instagram then you’ll see the pictures I just took of Journal #66.  I only have about 20 pages left and I expect to be finished with it by the end of the weekend.  If I do, I’ll take a picture of Journal #67.  I’m still wondering which one I should go with, the one I made myself or one I bought.  (I’m leaning towards the one I made myself.  However, that could change.)

Some days the only thing I write is the date.

Other days I will go pages and pages about what happened in my day and my thoughts and opinions about what happened.  I don’t expect anyone else to read them so they’re pretty graphic, sweary, and opinionated.  It’s the stuff I wouldn’t say to your face that gets put down in my journal.

Could it get me in trouble?

Possibly.

I could be an adult Harriet the Spy.  By the way, I didn’t know this was a series?!?  I must investigate.

Anyway, yes, my journals probably could get me into trouble.  But if you’re snooping then you get what you deserve because if I can’t let completely loose then where can I?  (Before you ask, my husband has never read a journal and wouldn’t.  I’ve given him permission but he hasn’t and I trust him completely.)

 

Leave a Reply

