On Crushes and my Brain

[Side Note:  After this morning’s dream, I had a surprise visitor.  That subconscious visitor is at the end.]

I love how my dreams and subconscious influence my waking life.  This past weekend, I had two dreams.  One was of Chris Evans doing his best Steve Rogers/Captain America and the other was of Lin-Manuel Miranda doing his best…well, his best self.  Now, admittedly, the Chris Evans part of the dream was most likely influenced by Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice.  Or more likely, countered by the movie.  Yes, I am a Marvel girl through and through.  It’s not that I don’t like DC, I just happen to know more about Marvel and feel more connected to it.

Where was I?

Right.

Dreams.

Crushes.

Lin-Manuel Miranda.

The LMM part of my dream was most likely influenced by Hamilton being on repeat on my iPod and in my head.  Sure, okay.  Go ahead.  I don’t mind.  Call me out.  It’s fine.  I deserve whatever derision you decide to throw at my head.  My husband says that I am secretly a fan of the modern musical and not those musicals that his parents like.

*shrugs*

Anyway, the dream was pretty innocuous but when I woke up, I knew for a fact that my subconscious just developed a crush.  And crush I have.  I’m sure in time it will subside and my subconscious will develop another infatuation for me.  But I just find it…interesting the men I crush on.  This one knocked me for a loop because he’s not British.  That’s really my requirement for crushes.  You are British and you make me laugh.

I’m easy to please.

And apparently, I’m attracted to men of talent.  And genius.  Who knows.  I don’t.

Anyway, that’s it.  Now, if you’ll excuse me I can’t get the soundtrack out of my head.

***

Right, so I wrote this post last night before going to sleep. I should’ve known better.  Since, I was a kid I’ve consistently dreamed about this one person.  He makes an appearance every now and again.  So, of course, he shows up last night.  When I was in high school, I jokingly called him my arch nemesis.  You know, as much as a high schooler can have an arch nemesis.  Really he wasn’t.  I, obviously, had a crush on him.  And that crush waxed and waned for the better part of our elementary, junior high, and high school experiences.  And as in real life, he was always out of my reach.  There’s probably a groove in my brain that is dedicated to him, which is unfortunately.  I’d like to have grooves in my brain for other reasons.

Anyway, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Leave a Reply

